PDA

View Full Version : engine won't start

szha8
16-07-2005, 06:09 PM
hey guys, been on the forum for a few weeks now. but i guess i'm still a newbie. anyhow, i've been reading the forums and been performing some of the DIYs listed(cleaning the IVAC). Initially, there was no huge issue with the idle, i mean, it doesn't jump up and down. But the engine just seems to shake every few seconds very mildly. After performing the IVAC cleaning, i actually got what everyone else experienced before actually cleaning the IVAC. idle jumps up and down. So i decided to cleaned the throttle body the next day, and that didnt seem to help. I think i might not have properly reset the ecu. Thats the first problem, the second is the real problem, i guess it could only be because of me, real stupid! While the engine was on, i started to pull the spark plugs leads out one by one to check maybe the rough idle was caused by the ageing spark plug leads(i saw my mechanic do it before, so i thought it was safe). Anyway, i pulled out the first spark plug lead and the engine idle slowed down and became rough, so i stuck it back in and it was back to normal. i did the same for the second spark plug lead, but when i tried to put the third spark plug lead back in, the engine just died. and now the car won't start. The starter motor still works, but the engine won't ignite. any suggestions to what i might have done guys??? and any advice to how i can get it fixed? :) i've taken apart the distributor cap and everything looks fine.
by the way i've got a 1994 honda eg5 civic vti hatch.

stephen

Weq
16-07-2005, 11:39 PM
hmmm wierd.
that shouldnt happen. are u getting spark when u are cranking? if not maybe try another dizzy cause ur ignitor could be ****ed...

wynode
16-07-2005, 11:58 PM
Firstly check to see if you have spark in each of the plugs (a good spark). You will have to check one at a time.

szha8
17-07-2005, 01:31 AM