PDA

View Full Version : redlining a dc5r

andrew84tran
06-08-2005, 05:26 PM
Hey guys,

I just got my audm dc5r the other day and I'm still a newbie at manual and just cars in general. Recently I've pushing pretty hard and going past redline, probably hitting 8000rpm on two or three of my shifts. I just want to know if this is has stuffed up my engine or anything?? I try to keep it under redline but I just get to anxious. Assuming I don't ever redline it again, is there any kind of damage to my engine atm?

Chi
06-08-2005, 05:30 PM
No offense but ur an idiot, if you a newbie to manual WTF push it for?

Seriously?

Anyways rant out of the way.

If u dont hit rev limiter its ok, but rev limiter is there to prevent u from over revving and blowing ur engine.
But i still wouldnt do it.

BUt make sure u check these things if u do hit it hard.

-Check if engine oil is still full, as VTECking can burn off oil.

-Make sure u warm up ur car for a good few 10-15mins prior to thrash it.

-Make sure u let ur car run down after thrashing it for a good few mins before shutting it off.

But yeah your engine can handle that kind of rev range often, but dont do it till u properly learn manual other wise u may ride ur clutch if u cant shift properly or if u down shift in high revs without matching u can jerk ur engine and could **** the internals.

kousoku
06-08-2005, 05:33 PM
the reason there is a rev limiter on your car is so that you don;t do anything that could do damage to it.
i'm pretty sure it would be save to do all your gear shifts at the limiter(once your car is warm, and once your new car has done at least 10k kms), although i myself would not recommend it.

-MuGen PoWer-
06-08-2005, 06:22 PM
Chi cant he push the car ?? and he can drive properly so dont diss him

zen
06-08-2005, 06:24 PM
First manual is a DC5R ? just be very careful buddy. i have a mate that thought he could learn manual on his S15 200sx and that ended up in a pole :thumbdwn:

Chi
06-08-2005, 06:25 PM