PDA

View Full Version : Which ECU

CivicOnBoost
16-02-2004, 07:43 PM
Looking at purchasing a new ecu for a civic i will be purchasing in a week or so and am wondering which brands are the best: Haltech, Hondata, Microtech and the benefits of each.

Engine basically has the following mods
O-ringed block
JE Connecting Rods
JE Forged Pistons and Rings
Ported and polished head
GARRET GT 35 ball bearing turbo
BLITZ blow off valve
5-ZIGEN border exhaust system
Custom Intercoller by CYPHER Industries
SARD Sports EX air filter
CRANECAMS PS 91 coil
NOLOGY Hotwires ignition leads
4 X 40Hp Injectors controlled by INJEC EM-1

Which ECU would best suit my application? and wat is a rough price

Spoon-Accord
16-02-2004, 08:59 PM
Hondata all the way buddy...
it cost's abit more..
but hey.. u wont have alot of problemo's

ken

vti-2
16-02-2004, 09:40 PM
Nice list of mods.

Well, i'm no mechanic so don't rip into me for what i'm about to say. From my knowledge and from what i've learnt from friends that have used various ECU's, here's my humble opinion.

Microtech is reliable, has heaps of features (tuning points etc) and has a huge resale market. There are heaps of guys in Melbourne running Microtech's and i know of a few cars that have run 10's and 11's (street driven cars) running a Microtech ECU.

Can't really comment on Haltech's. Never known someone that used one.

Hondata? Hmmm, well, i'm sure when James (BLKCRX) sees this post he will tell you all about it.

Motec are good as well, a close friend of mine had one in his car and even though it was an older model, it helped the car run a low 12sec pass.

Have you also considered Autronic? I may as well ask if you've considered getting a loan though. :D

Good luck mate.

poid
17-02-2004, 08:16 AM