PDA

View Full Version : Building a Turbo D

02ZZI
06-10-2005, 11:11 AM
Hey all,
Sorry if i starting another thread was wrong please delete if so.

Anyways i am going to be turboing my d. My goal is 130kw atw's. I want this before i go into stronger internals. Ie going to drive that for ahwile til i get enough money for stronger internals.

Then i am hoping for 160kw atw's. I am pretty new to turbo's but i have pretty good mechanical knowledge. I have been told its better for my goal to build my own setup rather then go for a package (avo or greddy) how ever i havent been able to see any of the avo packages.

What do you guys think is the best option.

I am thinking of doing a mini me first then turboing to make the end goal more achievable or should that money be better spent.

I would rather this then going and doing a engine conversion.

Please help me guys

Thanks

saxman
06-10-2005, 11:40 AM
I'm all for turbo d's

I really don't think you would have any problem making 130kw with the stock internals/stock head, etc.

Without having any knowledge of the legality of a diy set up there, I would definetely say it's a far superior option to a kit.

LVNIT
06-10-2005, 12:40 PM
Do you want to keep the air conditioning? There are very cheap turbo manifolds going for US$200 on Honda-tech at the moment, but you cant keep the air conditioning.

Basically your going to need..

Manifold - AVO $680 or something similar
Turbo - Use a T28 from a S15 if your going to upgrade later on
Intercooler - You could use a $200 Hybrid Copy or buy the real thing
Injectors - http://stores.ebay.com/Tuner-Toys
Oil lines - http://stores.ebay.com/Tuner-Toys
Water lines - Clark Rubber
Exhaust & intercooler piping - $1200 is what I was quoted
Air Filter - $70

Your also going to need..
Engine management - Your choice
Clutch
Boost gauge - You dont NEED it, but good to have

I might have missed some things, dont flame me if the prices are off ;)