PDA

View Full Version : how do i remove the EG hatch wing?

XRATED
27-10-2005, 08:21 PM
theres these two black clips that seem to be covering the screws that remove it.
also the connector for the backlight, how do i remove that? i tried pressing on the latch and pulling it, but it doesnt budge.

sorry noob here.

simon
27-10-2005, 08:54 PM
if you're trying to take the plastic part off the metal wing, good luck without damaging it.

anyone been able to do it without braking something?

XRATED
27-10-2005, 09:44 PM
metal wing? i thought it was plastic

EG5[KRT]
27-10-2005, 10:01 PM
u gotta get a screwdriver and sorta flick it up at the tabs..if ur careful u wont break anything.. and hold the bottom at the same time ..

it was a bitch to do .. coz i had to change the bulb.. but yeah afta that i left that damn cover bit off...

mugeneration
27-10-2005, 11:04 PM
Yeah honda tab things are notorious for being hard to pull apart (at least to me anyway!). If you just keep at it, jiggle it a little bit if you can without damaging it if you can. At least thats what i've found with all my wires. If you cut the wire its no real loss, as there's usually some extra down the line and you can re-wire it back up.

incoming
28-10-2005, 12:31 PM
if ur wanting to take the whole wing off, u dont undo the plastic clips...

open the glass hatch and undo the nuts holding the actual wing

EG5[KRT]
28-10-2005, 12:39 PM
i think hes trying to get to the stop light ... but yeah if ur trying to get off wing yeah u do that ... *points up above*

egSi
28-10-2005, 01:45 PM
its easier to remove the plastic thing off when the wing is off the car imo.

but its a bitch, i had do this when gettin my sir II wing painted. id take the 4 10mm bolts off. and be careful with removing the lil clips.
i broke a couple but u cant tell :p

pillow
28-10-2005, 01:51 PM