PDA

View Full Version : effective fuel economy - modified cars

MoDCoN
31-10-2005, 10:10 PM
hey guys, this sorta came up in my thread bout lightweight flywheels before, and i wanted to know what you think. basically what sort of effect does modifying a car have on fuel economy?

i know if you're running a huge turbo with larger fuel injectors on the track, then sure, you probably gonna eat a lot of fuel.

but what about smaller things, i.e., intake, header, exhaust? dont such mods improve volumetric efficiency,a dn as such improve economy at the same level... ie, given you dont drive harder, will you use less fuel?

and then say you tune it, i know that can be definitely used to improve consumpiton... im asking, can you modify a car lightly, and tune it really well, and end up having a car that pulls harder when needed, but drives better, more responsively and uses less fuel while driving normally... yeah im a cheap uni student but i also care about how much petrol im burning cos it affects the environment.

thanks! MoDCoN

egSi
01-11-2005, 09:21 AM
man i got i/h/e + cam gears and soon to have tranny work, my car untuned is very economical.

i also have no interior, small enkeis and no aircon.

my car is very economical but goes ok when i want :thumbsup:

iamhappy46
01-11-2005, 10:18 AM
To make a car fuel economical, is dependant on how many factors.
For example, I/H/E mods with a proper tune up and running hi octane fuel will improve power when you need it(rev it hard) but if baby it around town and get excellent fuel economy.

For turbo applications, if you baby the motor around 'off-boost' you should yield similiar fuel economy as a n/a car as it requires similiar amounts of fuel until the turbo spools up and requires more fuel to keep air:fuel ratios correct to make big power.

Same as VTEC, when the cam kicks in, the ECU adds fuel and ignition timing to make power.

ProECU
01-11-2005, 10:47 AM