PDA

View Full Version : 2nd gear prob

NightKids
22-11-2005, 09:50 PM
hey guys

i've noticed that when i change into 2nd gear in my EG VTi, that my car does this lil jerk that i can feel it from my clutch. it's weird cause every other gear is fine except for 2nd gear. even when i try to release the clutch very slowly it does it too! cause one of my other friend that has a EG VTi too said he noticed the same thing but ignored it... i dunno maybe i'm just a crap driver but anyone else have this same problem?

aaronng
22-11-2005, 10:17 PM
Does it happen when you put the gear into 2nd or does it happen when you release the clutch?

NightKids
22-11-2005, 10:24 PM
it doesn't happen when i down gear from 3rd to 2nd but it happens when I take off from 1st, into 2nd & then i release the clutch...

aaronng
22-11-2005, 10:27 PM
Can you describe exactly what how it happens? Like this:
1) You're in first gear and moving.
2) Press clutch
3) Shift to 2nd gear
4) Release clutch

Which point does it jerk at?

SiReal
22-11-2005, 10:30 PM
hey mate, i used to have a EK1 sedan manual and i noticed that too. the 1st to 2nd gear shift boxes in civics are pretty shoddy imo, but from then on, its very smooth. Well one simple thing i did to help me fix this was to sit in a different position. rather than lowride all the way back, i pulled my chair forward, hence controlling my friction point better. after a while i learnt to drive with this fricition point calibration, then it was ok. also release the clutch slower. might help.

aaronng
22-11-2005, 10:38 PM
If it is when you're releasing your clutch, try waiting 0.5 second longer before releasing.

NightKids
22-11-2005, 11:01 PM
Can you describe exactly what how it happens? Like this:
1) You're in first gear and moving.
2) Press clutch
3) Shift to 2nd gear
4) Release clutch

Which point does it jerk at?