PDA

View Full Version : what part is this???? crx question

fly_free
19-12-2005, 03:09 PM
http://img377.imageshack.us/img377/1391/photo00311ge.th.jpg (http://img377.imageshack.us/my.php?image=photo00311ge.jpg)

i found it today when changing my pod filter to the standard air box......... as you can see its the thing im pointing at, it looks to have a sensor on it, and that black knob thingy turns......... so its an adjustment for something i think. id really like to know what it is cause i turned it :confused: :confused:

also, after removing my pod filter the car doesn't scream (it used to scream when you hit past 5,500rpm)........... i put the standard air box in. is this normal??

sorry guys im a newbie and didnt know who else to ask these questions to!

kayot1k
19-12-2005, 03:18 PM
removing pod filter to stock airbox .
pod filter exposed, stock airbox enclosed.
what seems louder putting ur hand over ur ears or having them away from the ear.

fly_free
19-12-2005, 03:21 PM
uh-huh i kind of getchya................

Limbo
19-12-2005, 03:31 PM
I believe your talking about the air temp sensor. It should be plugged into the box.

fly_free
19-12-2005, 04:01 PM
the part im pointing at is no where near the air box. it sits behind the throttlebody (i think thats wat its called).

and inrelation to the air temp sensor........... theres none around the airbox area

SINISTR
19-12-2005, 04:09 PM
hey Fly,

This is what forum is for :) so its good that ure here asking and learning.

I have a feeling the 'sensor' your talking about is a vacuum related valve for the Aircon system. It regulares the amount of load your engine receives when you hit the A/C button inside the car - and as a result allows the engine to increase its RPM when the compressor is operational - otherwise it would stall.

But I could be wrong - its the shape and the turny nobly thing you point at that gives me that impression.

Anyone else?

ek4-guy
19-12-2005, 04:11 PM