PDA

View Full Version : losing engine oil

Taxi-R
23-03-2006, 10:28 PM
hi there,

y or how does an engine lose oil? given that there are no leaks. my car often has an odd smell on the outside when i get out of the car. it's a civic 99.

bennjamin
23-03-2006, 10:31 PM
thru combustion. Either worn piston rings , or the PCV system , or the valve stem seals are worn....

Install a oil catch can to prevent some oil getting burnt off...or look at replacing the valve stem seals OR rebuild the bottom end.

moved to the noob forum

sivic
23-03-2006, 10:32 PM
pretty sure this has been covered heaps.
basically you're probly burning oil (which is pretty bad for a '99). most likely from either worn piston rings or valve stem seals.
search "burning oil"

EDIT: bah! beaten by seconds

Slow96GSR
23-03-2006, 11:23 PM
HAHA you got sloppy seconds!!!

EK9
24-03-2006, 01:32 AM
doesn't using the wrong oil cause this too? if the oil is too "thin" it'll burn faster in ya car?

yer, i'm a noob with this one... :p

Taxi-R
25-03-2006, 12:26 AM
what sort of money are we talkin abt to fix these 3 causes?
1 - Either worn piston rings
2 - The PCV system
3 - The valve stem seals are worn

btw, y do the above happen? just age or sth else?

bennjamin
25-03-2006, 12:33 AM
replace the PCV ~ its something u apparently should do or check every major service. The valve stem seals arent too hard to replace , a good mechanic SHOULD be able to replace them without taking the head off. And finally to replace the rings is a "rebuild" effort really.
Using thicker oil prevents some oil loss in all the above situations (which really is , that clearances have loosened over time due to age/wear)

Jnr_Mint
25-03-2006, 01:22 PM
I had a similar problem, is it disapearing oil?? and the smell is the oil dripping on to the exhaust. it could be a cracked head gasket, look for heavy exhaust fumes also. maybe rear main seal?

g_kn
12-08-2007, 04:17 PM