PDA

View Full Version : Extending intake pipe

farkew
06-04-2006, 08:07 AM
i have a b18 type r motor in my integraa and i have a steel intake from wheree it sits i feel if i took it down into the frontbar i.e. extended it would i receive much gain out of this?>?? i have a flexi tube coming from the front bar to the pod..... but i would think that the more cold air the better.... can someone point me in the right direction in what i should do i am new to hondas lol

Zilli
06-04-2006, 08:31 AM
you can go the DIY route and extend the tube as you say, CAI or Cold air induction is what your talking about, and the debate of whether your exisiing setup (short ram intake) or CAI is better,

Injen and AEM make specifically design CAI units which put the filter dawn behind the front bumper, most people like it

dont ask me my cars stock

hehehe

but a search for CAI or Injen will explain in more detail for you

farkew
06-04-2006, 08:38 AM
thanks mate i will c what a few more people say and go from there

notorious_ahmie
06-04-2006, 08:46 AM
currently me and dyno dave are testing out a new intake that he is makin, similar to the aem + injen design

we made a prototype and now a newer version is being made today hehe

put it this way i had the Js racing whale penis (short ram intake) and i put this new design on and got on extra 11 kw atw on a stock ecu...mind u its still a prototype

keep tuned later on ill post up graphs and sheets

n if u can wait itll be available soon once weve mastered the design :)

but wat ppl say is short ram is better for bottom end where as CAI is better for top end..get it tuned like me and enjoy both hehee!!

Dylanamus
06-04-2006, 08:51 AM
A gain of 11kw atw? Man you must have had a cork in your old intake.

notorious_ahmie
06-04-2006, 08:54 AM
it would need a big cork to fit the whale penis

farkew
06-04-2006, 08:55 AM