PDA

View Full Version : B16A noob

wkdteg
26-04-2006, 11:18 PM
hey guys
couple weeks ago i picked up a DA9 with b16a fitted, so im a bit of a noob when it comes 2 that engine. the car came with wat im assuming to b a 2.25 or 2.5 inch exhaust from the cat back, as well as a pod intake.
so i just wanted 2 know:
1. at wat engine speed (rpm) does the vtec engage?
2. from wat ive read, the engines r renowned for having little lower end grunt, so wat mods would help improve lower end torque, without compramising top end? im thinking in terms of headers (4-2-1 as apposed to 4-1) and other "bank for ur buck" mods. keep in mind that the car is a daily driver, (hence the need for lower end) but its driven hard every now n then.

i realise there is a similar thread concerning a 95vti, so no1 gimmi this vtec fell off psi bs!!!

thanx in advance
cheers

integral90
26-04-2006, 11:26 PM
1. i think somewhere around 3-4k for the vtec.

2. maybe a bigger bore SRI for that, maybe new cams that are designed for low end grunt aswell as top end power...

tRipitaka
26-04-2006, 11:29 PM
if u want lower end torque.. buy urself 4-2-1 rather than 4-1..

b16a.. vtec engages at around 5500

edit: make sure you have a 2.25inch exhaust rather than a 2.5..

j3z3z
27-04-2006, 12:15 AM
vtec engages 5200rpm. when driving put in 2nd and use 3/4 aceleration at around 5200 you will hear the engine/exhaust note become much louder. thats the vtec crossover

wkdteg
27-04-2006, 12:19 AM
awesome
also... anothe question i forgot 2 ask... wats the redline on the engine?

j3z3z
27-04-2006, 12:41 AM
8200 is the rev limiter

wkdteg
27-04-2006, 12:44 AM
hmm
so would any1 know y it cuts off at about 6.5 (standard b18a redline)?
i have a feelin it has sumthin 2 do with the ecu?

j3z3z
27-04-2006, 12:46 AM
it could be the ecu. but is the vtec engaging? if the vtec is not engaging that is pretty much the limit of the 1st cam.

j3z3z
27-04-2006, 12:47 AM