PDA

View Full Version : Any special concern buying 2nd hand vehicle.

sismic
29-04-2006, 07:49 PM
Hi All,

This is my first time buying second hand car from private seller. I have deposited couple hundred and just find out that the car is still on finance.

Do you guys know if there is anything I need to concern buying this car?

I will handed the rest of the balance in bank cheque, do I need to write the payee of the cheque for Finance company which the cars leased from or just the seller's name ?

Help on this is appreciated as I have never buying car that still in finance before.

I live in Melbourne, not sure if there is special regulation regarding buying car that is in finance here in Victoria.

Thank You.

sismic
29-04-2006, 11:23 PM
any advise?

zco
30-04-2006, 07:27 AM
best thign you can do is get a NRMA Inspection. NRMA = insurance company. get them to check it out

then tell him to pay off the car first !
then you check if he has here
http://www.revs.nsw.gov.au/
and hten pay him for the car.

or

you can split hte check, pay the finance company, and pay the remaining to him

T-onedc2
30-04-2006, 08:44 AM
Hi All,

This is my first time buying second hand car from private seller. I have deposited couple hundred and just find out that the car is still on finance.

Do you guys know if there is anything I need to concern buying this car?

I will handed the rest of the balance in bank cheque, do I need to write the payee of the cheque for Finance company which the cars leased from or just the seller's name ?

Help on this is appreciated as I have never buying car that still in finance before.

I live in Melbourne, not sure if there is special regulation regarding buying car that is in finance here in Victoria.

Thank You.
Yes mate you must make the cheque payable to the finance company to cover yourself. Talk to your bank about this, they do it all the time.

Joeyboy
30-04-2006, 11:20 AM