PDA

View Full Version : Ohm???

Int3gra-T
04-07-2006, 02:26 PM
im a noob in car audio stuff so can someone explain the hole..
4 OHM or 2 OHM situation??

what do they mean???

jdm_kid
04-07-2006, 02:39 PM
http://www.lalena.com/audio/faq/wiring/
http://mobile.jlaudio.com/support_pages.php?page_id=163

its too technical, go to a professional (car audio store) and get them to help u out much easier, they will point u in the right direction, also will help u build up a proper audio system etc

matt
04-07-2006, 02:53 PM
there pretty good links.
simply ohms are a measure of impedance the lower the number the lower the impedance (resistance) in the speaker.
if you put a 2ohm speaker on an amp desgined for 8ohm it can output much more power and you will cook the amp, i guess think of it like going past the rev limiter on you car, it will still work but not for long.

Int3gra-T
04-07-2006, 02:59 PM
man that stuff is too intence.
lol
i still dont get it.
*sigh*

Dray_Templar
04-07-2006, 03:03 PM
It's All about ohms law..

http://www.the12volt.com/ohm/ohmslaw.asp

but yeah, resistance matching is great idea, to get best performance.

basically, if you amp is rated at 4ohms, then you should hook up 4ohm speakers to it, thats it in a nut shell (or hook up 2x 2ohm speakers in series) i may of got that last bit wrong, been some years since i did electronics.

iket
05-07-2006, 12:07 PM
It can be a bit tricky with resistance, but this I know about from my trade. Basically if you connect two 4ohm speakers in series, you add them together [4+4] and get a 8 ohm load. If you connect them in parallel though, you divide the resistance of the speaker by the number of speakers, so long as they're all the same resistance. [4/2] This will give you a 2 Ohm load. It is very important that you match your speaker and amplifier resistances, otherwise you may blow a brand new amp! :(

Q_ball
05-07-2006, 12:18 PM
Its physics my friend...all about the e=mc2 :p

CUL8R
05-07-2006, 12:45 PM