PDA

View Full Version : Need help!

Dy_
14-07-2006, 12:38 AM
My brother owns a Holden Cruze and lately his been saying when he breaks and almost gets to a stop the WHOLE care shakes. Feels like the car is stalling but WORSE and its an automatic car. This only happens occassionaly not everytime. I've checked the brakes and they're fine. Theres still brake fluid. I dont know what is wrong with it. If someone could please help me out it'd help alot! Thanks heaps. Sorry im a real noob with my cars.

Iwishiwasa Type R
14-07-2006, 01:23 AM
are you sure the brakes dont need machining?

Dy_
14-07-2006, 01:24 AM
well the machanic said the breaks were at 25% left. even so worn out breaks wouldnt make the car shake that bad would it?

Iwishiwasa Type R
14-07-2006, 01:31 AM
run your hand across your discs, from the centre (axle) out (rim). Do this before driving coz they get really hot... if it feels lumpy then yes, you need to machine them.

Dy_
14-07-2006, 10:23 AM
ok i've just done it and there are no lumps? I took the car to the mechanics today, the guy test drove it but found nothing wrong with it. Also it hasnt happen again for 2 days. The mechanic told me to bring it back when it gets worse so he can figure out whats wrong.

Fr3aKi3
14-07-2006, 10:33 AM
Maybe the brake rotors are warped....

Dy_
14-07-2006, 10:37 AM
What does that mean? is there a way i could check? i really dont know much about cars.

SiReal
14-07-2006, 10:47 AM
i have a similiar problem on my mums corolla but it doest shake like urs. it vibrates subtly. and its the brake disc being warped. maybe one of the wheels arent put on tight enough? we had that issue. tightened them up and the vibration was less, but still there (prob permanent disc warpage)

maybe get ur auto box chekced out as well/not enough tranmission fluiD?

DreadAngel
14-07-2006, 10:49 AM