PDA

View Full Version : opinion needed for VTI-S 94

xxx
29-07-2006, 06:21 PM
hi newbie here. i have done a search, but just need a bit more infor to buy this car, here it is
accord 94 vti-s going for 8000, it's got 130 000 km on the clock. everything seems to be good, but there is a bit of knocking sound coming from the engine when it first start? is that normal for accords?
what are the common problems with those cars, and any tips for how to avoid them?

another things is how does accord vtis go on fuel consumption?
thanks

Xplodin
30-07-2006, 08:22 AM
I know i've posted some things about this a while back.

Here have a quick read of this.
Clicky (http://www.ozhonda.com/forum/showthread.php?p=615386#post615386)

I'm not 100% sure on the 94 CD5 cos i dont have one, but 130,000Km is pretty good for that car. Make sure the car has full service history. More importaint, ask him about the timing belt, This should have been changed at 100,000Kms. Other things to check on the car is the body, Discolouration, Dints, Dents, Rust, Damaged panels ect. Take the car for a test drive, and Give it a bit of hammering, Red line the car, should be a smooth climb to 6,800 RPM. Last of all Check the engine for leaks Fluid leaks.

IMO, I'd go for the 96-97 CD5 (Minor cosmetic ie. Rear tail lights, front grill, Different cloth trim, SRS Airbags as standed, etc), Cos by this stage all the bugs in the car would have been ironed out. Little things that could affect the longativty of the car. But never the less the first series are good cars and i'm sure many forum members can tell you that.

Good luck with your car. And rememeber to post a pic when you get it!

If you need someone to look at it for you (if ur located in Melb) shoot us a PM.

razaman
30-07-2006, 10:07 AM
Take the car for a test drive, and Give it a bit of hammering, Red line the car, should be a smooth climb to 6,800 RPM.

redline is 6250, so taking it to 6800 won't be a good idea.;)

Raz

poid
30-07-2006, 07:58 PM