PDA

View Full Version : '01 GLi Performance Upgrade

Discatelli
20-09-2006, 05:55 PM
Hi guys,

I'm a complete noob when it comes to car mod's, but I am interested in trying to squeeze a further 20-30kW's out of my 2001 Civic GLi. (1.7ltr SOHC)

I've been searching for a manufacturer of extractors to suit this model but so far have turned up nothing.

Has anyone on this forum successfully attempted such a feat, and if so where is the best place to start?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!

aaronng
20-09-2006, 05:56 PM
You won't get 20-30kW out of the d17. Maybe 10-15kW with bolt ons (I/H/E and piggyback)

Discatelli
20-09-2006, 05:59 PM
What do you mean 'bolt-ons'?

Q_ball
20-09-2006, 06:01 PM
Bolt ons is whats inside the brackets (I/H/E, piggyback)
Intake, headers and exhaust - piggyback = ecu

Afaik, theres not much after market support for this model civic so u'll be strugglin to find parts readily available, and the parts u do find may be quite expensive!

Discatelli
20-09-2006, 06:03 PM
Is that because it's just a slightly newer model, or are there other factors at play?

Q_ball
20-09-2006, 06:07 PM
Nah, the cars 6 yrs old, so theres been plenty of time for manufacturers to come up with something.
Problem is, the 01 civic jst wasnt as popular as the EK range, hence aftermarket support for it isnt as big.

Discatelli
20-09-2006, 06:10 PM
So do I have any options if I want to improve the GLi's performance? Would it be a case of having to import extractors, etc. from Japan if I wanted to make any significant improvements?

Discatelli
20-09-2006, 06:17 PM
Does anyone know of a manufacturer of intake, headers, and exhausts to suit an '01 GLi?

aaronng
20-09-2006, 07:53 PM
Does anyone know of a manufacturer of intake, headers, and exhausts to suit an '01 GLi?