PDA

View Full Version : Checking Oil Level

TypeRice
29-09-2006, 01:22 PM
i was told that when u check the oil level, the oil level should be just abit below the dot..

that is the best level apparently..

but when i got my car serviced.. i cheked the oil level at home.. and it is like 2cm ABOVE that dotted line !!!!

so its like i have Twice as much oil in there than i should !!!

does it matter???

or should i take it back and tell em to leak some out so make it below the dot??

Honda Enthusiast
29-09-2006, 01:26 PM
i was told that when u check the oil level, the oil level should be just abit below the dot..

that is the best level apparently..

but when i got my car serviced.. i cheked the oil level at home.. and it is like 2cm ABOVE that dotted line !!!!

so its like i have Twice as much oil in there than i should !!!

does it matter???

or should i take it back and tell em to leak some out so make it below the dot??

To be honest, I am a noob myself...but I've been told again and again by so many people - never overfill oil as it will leak or cause some problems... the mark or dot is there for a reason... I don't know about you, but I sure don't wanna experiment with my car to see what it'll do if i'ts over...I would just ask the mechanic over the phone mate and she what he says, then you can check back with us or something as a point of reference but yeah, I would keep it was prescribed.

aaronng
29-09-2006, 01:28 PM
I noticed that the dealer tends to do this too. I had1.5cm over the dot. I got under the car with an oil tray, took off the drain bolt and let some of the oil drain out and then put the bolt back on. Make sure your engine is cold when you do this and that you are wearing latex/nitrile gloves.

Of course, if you are not familiar with DIY, then get the place that changed your oil to drain it for you. Free of charge of course!

aimre
29-09-2006, 03:32 PM