PDA

View Full Version : Need Advice : Engine conversion

Sinbad
17-10-2006, 05:35 AM
Hi there..
I can be considered a total NOOB when it comes to cars. I know a little bit of here and there but only for a standard automobile. When it comes to putting in a new engine into my 96' Civic VTI coupe i dont have a clue. So i decided where best to ask but the internet. I have been talking to some of my friends who are into cars but most of them only know about turbos and anything above 400hp for an engine

Plan: 1.8L Type-R engine (i'm guessing this is a B18cR)

My biggest obstacle to getting that is the budget. I'm aiming 7k in total and i'm scouting around for the pricing. I was wondering if anyone here would have any estimates.
So far from my "talks" i found out roughly what needs to be changed along with the engine but cant be totally sure.

-engine mounts
-headers, piping, exhaust system
-gearbox(can a civic's gearbox handle the B18cR?)
-ECU

Any help from anyone would be great :)

Weq
17-10-2006, 10:26 AM
There are some writeup's in the DIY section about engine conversion's into civics.

They are fairly straight forward, but a b18c7 or 5 (typer) is going to cost u. Depending on what u want, a half-cut will cost around 5k. Actually PM MRJDM, i think he has one lieing round atm.

What is ur aim, DIY? Have a shop install it? Is ur current engine still good? cause u always have the option of turboing that..

SOme other websites for reference,

http://www.honda-tech.com/
http://www.hondaswap.com/

[[d a n n y]]
17-10-2006, 11:18 AM
http://www.ozhonda.com/forum/showthread.php?t=47020

for EG but
EK is same principle

marte
17-10-2006, 07:33 PM
btw and no ur gear box wont handle the bseries engine lol

Sinbad
17-10-2006, 11:51 PM
DIY is totally out of question.. i dont know anything else than changing radiator coolant and engine oil. I'm probably going to look for a mechanic that does Hondas up