PDA

View Full Version : First time Honda owner

ROBERT
17-10-2006, 01:20 PM
I am a recently retired mechanical engineer and my cars for the past 30 years have been company cars, Commodors, Falcons etc. So now I have had to purchase a car with my own money I looked very carefully at all the options and the Euro came out on top. I bought the standard model with auto transmission. It is a 2005 model but purchased this year (I got a very good discount and trade in on my old company car, which I had purchased from my old employer), it is white with the light bone trim. I am very happy with the car and it drives lovely. My only criticism is the poor leg room in the rear with the drivers seat fully back ( I am 6' 3") but then I don't have to sit in the back and the occasions that we have rear passengers I just move it forward, usually just short trips anyway.
I do have another car in my garage, a replica Shelby Cobra that I built 8 years ago, it has a Windsor 302 with EFI, 5 speed Borg Warner gearbox, full Jaguar suspension. The Honda is not quite as quick as the Cobra, but I love driving both cars.
I also enjoy building model steam engines and things of that sort. I live close to Forster in the Mid North Coast.

blk_shadow
17-10-2006, 01:44 PM
welcome to ozhonda robert! :wave:

If you compare with cobra, it has a totally different engine and build purpose. and clearly they run differently.

but the joy of owning a honda is the screamer part and VTEC YO!!

:thumbsup: :thumbsup:

EuroAccord13
17-10-2006, 02:02 PM
PICS OR BAN!!! :D :D

Welcome...

If you have an Euro related questions, the CL9 section is for you :D!!!!

Dray_Templar
17-10-2006, 02:02 PM
welcome mate. hope you enjoy your time here.
a few pics of your cars would be great sometime mate. would love to see the replica Shelby Cobra as well.

anyways catch later mate.

P.S can't go wrong with the Euro seem to be one of the best if not the best value for money car around atm.