PDA

View Full Version : Downhill : neutral or coast in gear

Hullabaloo
17-10-2006, 02:35 PM
Not sure if this should go in Lounge or Technical, but since I'm a newbie i thought i would be safer in here. I can't say I know alot about cars so if anyone can help me out with this i'd be very appreciative.

Situation: coasting down a hill.

Question: Which uses less fuel? (for a fuel injected car)

1) car in neutral – most people would agree that you use bare minimal fuel whilst idling.

Or

2) car in gear with no throttle application? (in other words are the injectors still firing upon engaged motor deceleration with no throttle application.)

My opinion is I think that the wheels are connected to the engine and are therefore keeping the engine turning over and preventing it from stalling. And therefore you don’t need to use fuel and the ECU cuts . Where as if you’re idling you need to pump in fuel and ignite it to keep the engine turning and prevent stalling.

A friend has said :
“If you're in neutral, the fuel pump is pumping some minimum amount of fuel into the engine (i.e. the throttle is open some minimum amount). If you're in gear and rolling down the hill without your foot on the accelerator, the throttle is still open the same amount as if you were in neutral. The engine is only spinning faster by virtue of the car's weight in accelerating down hill.”

If this is the case then wouldn’t coasting downhill in gear at say 4000rpm be using 4 times as much fuel as when idling?

Another friend said: