PDA

View Full Version : Hondas and synthetic engine oils

Vinnie
19-10-2006, 10:02 PM
I dropped my car in for a service (145k) today with 5 litres of mobil 1 (5w-50) as i figured that this stuff would be better than anything the mechanic (hondacare in brisbane) would put in. However, upon doing so i was informed by the mechanic there that, while it wont do any damage, hondas in general do not run well with sythetic oils. He said that the semi-syths were the best bet and that sum1 had actually blown a piston through the block on their s2k whilst running mobil 1 (!). Although im no mechanic im wondering about the validity of his claims and if it was just a ploy to make me pay to have them use their oil (elf)... In the end i did get him to just put the mobil 1 in but it did make me think about how it could have such shortcomings. He also said that hondas all have slightly cylindrical pistons which causes rougher running until the engine warms up, is there any truth to this as well? Thanks :)

PS. I would just use FEO but it isnt suitable for the climate up here...

jamchen
19-10-2006, 10:22 PM
um...its the first time i hear something like this...
have been using motul and no problems what so ever... i'd say the s2k incident would've been more to the wrong grade of engine oil been used...
as u said hondas have thin cylindrial pistons, then if u use something like 15W.. of course u won't be able to lubricate the cylinders...
plus mobil, motul sheel and other big engine oil producers all have booklets u can refer to see the correct grade of ther products to use... so i guess even in worse case something did happen to ur engine... the engine oil manufacutrer would've in trouble too because ur car is listed in the book...
i think the machanics was just purely trying to get u to use OEMS so they can make profits off u...
having said that... engine oil will be the only non-OEM i will use...
try to stick OEM for ATF, and all others..

Mr_will
19-10-2006, 10:34 PM