PDA

View Full Version : performance Exhaust, i have not idea

Dray_Templar
23-10-2006, 03:24 PM
hi guys, hoping some of you can clear above a few Q's i have about getting a performance exhaust installed. (total noob in this area).

anyways was doing some research here (http://www.carline.com.au/default.asp?pageid=SearchAndFAQ&template=CONTENT&sid=226)

http://www.carline.com.au/images/Tech%20pics/Walker_Lukey/Exhaust%20system%20components%20v2.JPG

Am trying to figure out what needs replacing, what gets totally thrown out the window, and what gets kept.

basically leaving the headers for the moment, i know that i will replace the Cat with a high flow one do i keep the resonator/replace it/ or throw it?, Should i keep the front muffler/replace it/ or throw it out the window? being dual exhaust iI'm pretty sure i will need 2 performance rear mufflers and some sexy tips for them.

does anyone have lukey performance exhaust parts? can you make any recomendations?

kwayzivietnamese
23-10-2006, 05:10 PM
western mufflers for lukey performance exhausts :thumbsup:

Slow96GSR
23-10-2006, 05:59 PM
Well what car, y/m/m? Next, if it's dual exhaust you can get a muffler with two inputs and two oupts, or 1 for each side or a 2 to 1 or a 1 to 2. As for the resonator I would keep it. For the cat, depends on laws there. Pipes will be custom bent for your application by a good shop.

krogoth
23-10-2006, 06:33 PM
1.DO NOT remove the catalytic converter
-its horrible for the environment
-and its a 10k fine if u dont have one and dont think no1 will notice either....
an exhaust system with no cat will make a 4cyl sound like a v8, so its very clear who has a cat and who doesnt

2. get rid of stock cat and replace with high flow cat
-good for performance and allows for further engine mods
-will make a significant improvement in the sound of the exhaust

3. Leave resonator