PDA

View Full Version : B16a Diagnostic Codes.

SIKCVC
30-05-2004, 04:14 PM
Ok I found a link on here to a Post James(BLKCRX) made with all the codes. My problem is that I dont know what sort of a gap i would be looking for between different codes.

This what the engine check light did when I ran the diagnostic(doesn't have the LED on the computer)
Nothing for a few seconds then 2 long flashes then 3 quick. Now I'm hoping the pause at the start isn't representing 0 coz that would suck a lot. Now I'm thinking its either 20(ELD) and 3(MAP), 10 and 13 or just 23(Knock).

For more background, heres some the driving simptoms, the engine runs really nice and drives fine, until the light comes on then it feels a little rougher in the gear stick, but not in driving. I also found it had an extremly low Idle, 500 and below. Then it almost stalled but quickly recovered with a little accel, and it continued to drive fine. Problem is I'm new to the engine so i dont know whats good and crap.

Any help would be great guys...

SIKCVC
30-05-2004, 07:02 PM
I found a loose wire which went to the gear box, i spose this could have been it. I'm just woried that if I've got it all wrong driving the car will only make things worse. any ideas?

SIKCVC
31-05-2004, 10:05 AM
Ok I found out that the Check light comes on when the Knock sensor is activated to many times (ie engines pinging like ****) So i double checked it, cruised around for a while, no light, then booted it up through VTEC then again at 50 in third up a hill with a passenger and sure enough the sound then the light. It was just hard to hear it ping over the engine noise/exhaust.

Anyone know who can help me out with this? I've got it booked in on the dyno in bayswater with a mates dad tomorow. He knew what i was talking about so I'm assuming he's able to solve it, I'm hopping altering the ignition timing will solve any trouble.

Any more advice on how to fix it? maybe run octane booster?

ECU-MAN
31-05-2004, 08:18 PM