PDA

View Full Version : EF8 Inner CV boot and driveshaft (parts that match and help).

Dxs
09-11-2006, 12:28 PM
Ok, as usual i start to do a basic job and it snowballs.
I was just replacing a front tie bar and the lca popped out.. and when i tried to drive the car back on ramps it when clunk clunk clunk...

so it looks like the passenger side shaft has popped out.. the shaft seems around 8mm out of the inner cv boot.. so i guess it has poped out..

anyway.. the inner boot is cracked needs replacing..

question time
What parts do i need and do other parts from another honda work? (this is from the ED crx manual)
http://i14.tinypic.com/4grkhuu.jpg
SET RING
BIG BOOT BAND
SMALL BOOT BAND
INNER BOOT
SET RING
SET RING GROOVE

that's all? what is compatible with say a b16a2 gen3 crx parts work?
should i use a special grease?

i need tips on doing this procedure too.. i am a damn amateur

i am concerned about removing the shock fork too.. i have rsr springs and kyb shox.. how could i get it back on afterwards and wouldnt it come down with a lot of force?

URBAN4
09-11-2006, 02:56 PM
I had to replace one outer boot on my gf's DA9 so I went ahead and did all four of them (inner & outer, both sides). I got the kits from a shop close by, the kits should have everything you need: the bands, the boots, the rings, the grease to pack it with. Cost me under $58 for all four kits, so if you're doing just one it'll be pretty cheap. That was cash price too.

If you have the full workshop manual it'll be easy, everything should be detailed in there.

Another suggestion would be to very thoroughly clean inside if the boot has cracked right through (i.e. spitting grease everywhere), I took all of them apart and cleaned them in the parts washer, then reassembled. But if, as you say, you're an amateur maybe see if you know of anyone who can take it apart for you and clean it (and put it together if you really don't know what you're doing).