PDA

View Full Version : Air intake for an EK1 sedan (2000)

kanishkaz
12-11-2006, 11:16 PM
Hey guys,

I'm a bit new to modifying cars and i know you guys must have answered this question so many times.

I want to get an air intake system for my car, thought i'd clear a few things before i do so.

1. I want to get a pod filter, would it suit my car? or would a stock replacement be alright?
2. I read some stuff about pod filters sucking up engine heat, what can i do about this?
3. what brand of air filter should i go for?
4. And how much would it all cost?

Cheers,
Kazz

Encor3
12-11-2006, 11:36 PM
Hey guys,

I'm a bit new to modifying cars and i know you guys must have answered this question so many times.

I want to get an air intake system for my car, thought i'd clear a few things before i do so.

1. I want to get a pod filter, would it suit my car? or would a stock replacement be alright?
2. I read some stuff about pod filters sucking up engine heat, what can i do about this?
3. what brand of air filter should i go for?
4. And how much would it all cost?

Cheers,
Kazz
Search will yield most of the questions your asking.

1. Yes it would suit your car, but if your not going to go all out, you wont get much of a performance increase out of it. Maybe just alil.

2. An exposed pod filter will suck up engine heat, to prevent it build a box theres lots of threads in DIY about how to make an aluminium box to shield the pod from engine heat.

3. Apexi, but reading from other threads it depends more so on where you place your pod then which pod it is.

4. How long is a piece of string? lol Looking at prices at traders, for just intake definately <500

ccibai
13-11-2006, 08:58 AM
diy n save some $$ :)
http://www.ozhonda.com/forum/showthread.php?t=17513&highlight=intake

clem
13-11-2006, 04:31 PM
A k&n or apexi replacement filter does a good enough job with resonsiveness as it lets colder air into your engine as opposed to the more restrictive stock paper filters.