PDA

View Full Version : Parts needed for CRX turbo?

Ceffo
03-06-2004, 05:06 PM
Hi peeps.. From posts so far in this section on turboing crx's. I have managed to make up a make shift list of parts needed. Im still a novice to how vtec works. (Using a stock internals).. From my knowledge of modding turboed cars do you need the following to turbo a crx 93 model:

- Turbo: td-04/05 (this was suggested a couple of times - Can i run a t28 on it or do the manifolds need changing).
- Wastegate: (run on the internal wastegate? - assuming u running the td-04/05) or do u need a external wastegate?41mm) This is assuming running on under 0.75 bar.
- Intercooler (Im thinking more top mount rather than front - rx7 powerfc style.. otherwise suggestions for size)
- Aftermarket ECU (suggestions needed??)
- Injectors (suggestions needed?? e.g what size?)
(is the crx side ot top feed).
- Full Exhaust front pipes included (Suggest a dump pipe?)
- Airpod
- AFM (Which aftermarket one?)
- Fuel pump (Is this needed or can the standard ones be able to load)

Ok.. correct me if im wrong. If the turbo comes on boost at say 3500rpm and then at say 6000 then how does it affect the vtec which say comes in at 5600rpm?.. From this picture what would the acceleration be like?.. Linear all the way through?..

Thanx in advance.
Cef.

fueltank
03-06-2004, 05:13 PM
what do you mean the turbo leans out? runs out of puff?

Ceffo
03-06-2004, 06:09 PM
what do you mean the turbo leans out? runs out of puff?

Not enough fuel is coming through as compared to air. Hence u might screw the pistons as it gets too hot. I actually edited the list above post now to include a fuel pump and afm. So Ill edit the lean bit out. Majority turbos run rich anyways. (other way around fuel > air).

If u guys need to to clarify any of what i asked please post.. I might not be making any sense. :)

cheers.

cef.

poid
03-06-2004, 06:53 PM