PDA

View Full Version : Importing Your Own Car

b18c_crx
26-12-2006, 10:46 PM
hey guys

wondering what does it take to import your own car into australia. it is worth it?
say if i purhcase a car from japan and i wanted to import it to australia and be able to drive it as well. what would i need to be able to make it aus road worthy. Paper work and just stuff like that.

thanks you

JaCe
26-12-2006, 11:51 PM
I'm no expert on the subject... but when you say import your own car, are you referring to buying your car from an importer, or bringing a car you already own/purchased yourself overseas?

On a sidenote, are there any issues with compliance with ADR or something when importing a car not designed for Australian market?

AsH_
12-01-2007, 12:59 PM
jap cars dont have side intrusion bars... im pretty sure AUS rego'd cars need them installed if not already on...

kid_dynamite
12-01-2007, 01:14 PM
hey guys
wondering what does it take to import your own car into australia. it is worth it?
say if i purhcase a car from japan and i wanted to import it to australia and be able to drive it as well. what would i need to be able to make it aus road worthy. Paper work and just stuff like that.

It depends on the car and how you are intending to import it.

Basically there are four main methods of bringing a car into Australia:
Race/Rally: not applicable since you want to road register it.
15 year rule: any car produced before 1/1/1989 can be brought in, has to meet state rego requirements.
SEVS: any car produced after 1/1/1989, only certain models are allowed in (ie none which have been sold to the domestic market). Strict rules on condition and modifications (generally it must be a stock car).
Personal Import: if you are overseas and own a car for more than 12 months, you can import it into the country, has to meet state rego requirements.

If you want to tell me what car you want (and where from) I can give you a breakdown of approximate costs.