PDA

View Full Version : Clarion Speaker setup on 07 Civic

JChen
01-03-2007, 09:34 PM
Hi Guys

Being a noob, I need your opinions whether I am getting a good deal and if the setup is wrong. I just went to autobarn and I came across this clarion speakers SCM300
http://clarion.com/au/en/products/2006/audio/speakers/component_systems/SCM300/au-en-product-pf_1139306870286.html

and amplifier APX4240 http://clarion.com/au/en/products/2006/audio/amplifiers/APX4240/au-en-product-pf_1139306870204.html

I was told by the Autobarn guy that the SCM300 was selling for around $730 and that he will sell me the speakers for $249 being the last display set. He then quoted me the whole setup (speaker, amp, cables and installation) will cost $720. Thinking I got a good bargain ($249 for a $7++ speakers), I paid a deposit of $50.

Thank god I didn't pay the full amount when i realised that the speaker costs only $299 from the clarion website and not $7++ like he quoted.

So should I still go ahead with the installation? Is there anything wrong with the setup? The main bass driver will be fitted to the rear while the mid bass and tweeter in front.

Thanks guys for any advice!! :D

J2daW
02-03-2007, 01:00 AM
yeah 4 sure that'll work. will be good sound and u got plenty of power but might not be that loud, especially sound from the back. havent worked on new civic yet but there's 6"s in rear and 6" splits in front? ok you may have better sound buying a 2way split for the front and some coaxials or splits again for the rear. this will give much more sound (volume) and probably more enjoyable depending on your tastes. the amp will run either setup. pretty rude bout the $730 thing but hey...

D4rk4n63l
02-03-2007, 05:56 PM