PDA

View Full Version : Modified Factory EK4 Airbox

JohnnyVtec
16-03-2007, 02:46 PM
Hey all,

As you may know i've been working on my project for Several months.
I've explored many different Cool air induction setups. Including but not limited to,
80mm flexi pipe, 69mm ally piping in "SRI & CAI" form, 80mm pvc pipe, most with K&N XSTREAM pod filter. These trials were all conducted with the "Arse dyno". Never the less, I have finally found a Modification which works "EXTREMELY SMOOTH" as well as "QUIET & POWERFUL"
This Mod which i have designed Works so well, i have decided to share it with the rest of you. "Skeptics Included".

Measure your factory airbox ports, you'll realise that they are infact 75mm in diameter reguardless of shape distortion.
Working in the marine industry, I've found that we use a Heat resistant Rubber Hose for "Exhaust". This Exhaust hose is designed for Hi-temp/High pressure use. I used one 45 degree Elbow & coupled it with a 400mm long straight, directly into the factory airbox. Prior to sealing the airbox and installing the K&N panel filter. I've bypassed the resignator box by using Hi temp-Marine ducting tape. = Direct air-flow. After this was done i used the old Lower re-circ Piping to the bottom of the airbox and cut + smoothed the edges of it right before it bends back up into the engine bay.

Here are some picsof the outside finished product, Enjoy

ekhybrid
20-03-2007, 11:24 PM
nice work
hows the top end compare to the pod setup?

BlitZ
21-03-2007, 06:17 AM
Good Work....

however there is a few flaws..

i think u would have lost power.. ;)

the 180degree bend induces velocity...

+ its in the splash guard.. would it suck up heaps of water?

JohnnyVtec
21-03-2007, 09:24 AM
nice work
hows the top end compare to the pod setup?