PDA

View Full Version : New springs!! What do i do?

tegraa
07-07-2004, 04:16 PM
Hi all, im kind of new to all this and am the first to obmit that i dont know all that much, but am starting to learn.

Ive just purchase a full set of super low king springs for my 94 integra, and will get them installed in about a day or so, they lower me about 2 inches.
My question is because ive been told, "will i need shortened shocks now?", for the ride or is a straight spring change over ok to do??

Im not sure so if anyone know let me know.

Thanks.

joneblaze
07-07-2004, 04:23 PM
Running aftermarket springs such as King on your stock Integra shocks will be "fine" for a period of time (say up to 8mths?), but if your shocks and new springs don't match, you will have to eventually replace your shocks.
When you do get your super lows installed, don't be too disappointed when she first rolls out of the garage. The springs need abit of time to settle in and sag, and the initial drop is not representative of the final height difference. :)

Jus-10
07-07-2004, 04:25 PM
You can just change the springs over and you will be fine. It won't be the best ride in the world, but you will survive!

But seriously, if you want improved performance, you will need shocks. Having said that, by using just lowered springs you will wear out your OEM shocks a lot quicker (I'm guessing they may already be worn out?)

If you can afford it, get shocks now and change it all over at once rather than going back at a later date. This will save you labour costs.

Shocks wise, I would be looking at Koni adjustables. They seem to match the Kings springs quite well.

Happy lowering!

J

SiR
07-07-2004, 04:38 PM
Out of curiosity, how much $$ are Koni adjustables? Do they match Pedder's, Eibach etc. springs too?

vti-2
07-07-2004, 05:43 PM
My question is because ive been told, "will i need shortened shocks now?", for the ride or is a straight spring change over ok to do??