PDA

View Full Version : 1990 Prelude Si Japanese Import - to buy or not to buy?

aaronn71
04-06-2007, 03:16 PM
Hi all,
I've searched the forums as best I know how (given I'm a newbie:wave: ) for some advice on buying a 2-owner 1990 Prelude (which was a family owned car, privately imported from Japan) but have had no luck. I am buying the car as a surprise for my Mum and am unsure if I am getting myself into a whole load of trouble.

Pluses:
110 km's - which I believe are genuine
Not souped or blinged-up -all original and no major accidents
$5k asking price (negotiable)
Drives really well
All electrics OK.

Minuses:

No service books, but current owner has done the basics regularly
Could use a major service
Aircon not cold, though compressor operating ok
Needs a total detail
Small 'carpark' dents here and there, but no rust

I am told by Honda that because it is an import, getting parts will be extremely difficult and that diagnostics may not work with Australian service agents - is this true?

I am thinking I should offer in the region of $2-2.5k. What does someone think?

I do hope someone can help, as after reading many a good review on this car, I am now somewhat frightened! Any advice would be most appreicated.

Aaron

04-06-2007, 04:42 PM
does Australia has the car? if it does it is not a problem for servicing and spare parts are not hard too.
what engine does it have?

any pictures of it?

aaronn71
04-06-2007, 04:52 PM
Hi there, not suire what you mean by "does Australia have the car?".... would you be so kind as to explain for me? Cheers! Aaron

!JonZap!
04-06-2007, 05:28 PM
have you got a link to this car?
pictures for us to inspect the damage?

parts and everything else are the same as the australian car, except the japanese has a higher compression motor, digital climate control, folding mirrors and some other cool gadgety features.