PDA

View Full Version : Prep Work For a Re-spray

rhysporter
06-06-2007, 10:15 PM
I needed the cheapest possible re-spray for my civic, so ive worked out an agreement with the painter that i'll do all the prep work and all he has to do is spray it...
As im pretty new to all of this, can anybody give me a basic rundown of:
What i actually have to do?

How far down i need to sand (To the metal, or back to the previous undercoat)
Best type of filler to use on a few small dents...
Will i need to undercoat it then sand it again before i give it to him? Because he said no sanding at all on his part...

Going to start the work in the school holidays in 2 weeks...

Any help would be appreciated!!

Thanks
Rhys

aimre
07-06-2007, 12:13 AM
sand until its smooth.

If u have a scratch to metal, sand surrounding area to metal.

If u scew up the prep, paint will look like shit

Jomsy
07-06-2007, 07:59 AM
your almost better off paying some one to do the prep work and do the painting your self, thats how important the prep work is,

if your paint is in good condition all you want to do is sand it till the paint is dull i.e. remove the clear coat, make sure you use sanding blocks not your hands/fingers, and plenty of water so you dont scratch the surface

JasonGilholme
07-06-2007, 08:00 AM
your almost better off paying some one to do the prep work and do the painting your self, thats how important the prep work is.

x2 :thumbsup:

lil_miss_vtec
07-06-2007, 08:45 AM
^^ Agreed!!!

Kiz_EG6
07-06-2007, 01:08 PM
99.99% of the time, cheap respray = crap respray!!
If you want the car to still look good in 12 months, DONT skimp out!!

If the guy spraying it is not going to take all your trims etc off then you will end up with overspray and orange peel all over the car!! not to mention a bad prep job can result in crows feet and many other imperfections coming through the new paint job!!

Are you painting because the paint is stuffed or because you want a new colour?