PDA

View Full Version : new ctr paint protection

sitta
27-06-2007, 10:10 PM
my new ctr is coming ths friday, the delaer offered me paint protection which they said last for 2-3 years. I didnt choose this since this is a special car and i would like to do the detailing myself. Since it is a new car i dont think i need to polish it but do i need to wax it straight after i got it to give it some protection? sorry im a noob at car detailing and can anyone recomned good wax that i can get in a shop like supercheap or bigw?

roar
27-06-2007, 10:48 PM
dunno much about paint protection...never had a car thats had it b4...

yer its a good idea to wax your car when you get it...i found it made a big difference for my gf's brand new jazz (w/o paint protection)

but for good waxes from supercheap...umm meguiars nxt/gold class is good

Zilli
27-06-2007, 10:50 PM
check out the detailing forum dude

i use meguiars nxt, which is good, but its not really a long lasting sealant, im currently looking to upgrade to something better,

check out waxit.com

jamchen
28-06-2007, 12:33 AM
IMO... the paint protection package offered by car dealers have few strict restrictions.. eg. you can only wash the car with their special formulated detergents etc....
Wax... or i'd say polish-only products will do the same job.. just depends on care can you be with your car...
We used to own a black MDX.. as you know black is the color that's the hardest to maintain.. but i'd always out and ppl came to ask me is it a new car?!:P

aaronng
28-06-2007, 12:42 AM
No point paying $700-900 for paint protection from the dealers when they get it applied by detailers for under $300. So if you want it, get it done outside.

As for waxes, the best you can get from Supercheap/BigW is NXT. I prefer Meg's #21 synthetic sealant, which recently started selling in 473mL bottles like NXT. When I started using it, I had to buy it in 1.9L bottles.