PDA

View Full Version : Need Guide to full audio system upgrade

jas_kidd32
17-07-2007, 10:22 PM
How hard will it be to install the system myself? My car is a DC5R and I'm a car audio newbie. I need someone who can point me to the write direction in terms of installing this myself and some friends who've done installation in their cars. ATM, the car has:

- Pioneer Splits at the front
- 2 6x9 JL at the back which are mounted on a MDF
- RF mono block for the sub (but no sub)
- 50W 4CH jaycar amp under the front passenger seat
- CD changer

The thing is, I bought the car 2nd hand and don't like the setup at all and one of the tweeter at the front is busted. I hate the MDF at the back coz my boot is almost inaccessible so that's going.

I ordered a new pair of splits, 5CH amp, and a 10" sub. My plan is:
- Remove the MDF board from the boot and reconnect the stock rear speakers to the new amp
- Maybe put the amp in the boot

Here are some of the questions I have:
- Where is the best place to have the 5CH amp coz I don't think it'll fit under the seat anymore?
- I'm using sealed sub enclosure to save some boot space, so how can secure the box to my car without drilling too many holes?
- How hard is it to wire the stock rear speakers? Where do I find their wires?
- How can I secure the amp to my car? How complicated is it to rewire the amp to the batter? I'm assuming I'm gonna need a longer wire if I decide to put the amp in the boot.

Drew
17-07-2007, 10:59 PM
Ditch the 6x9s in favor of 6's

jas_kidd32
17-07-2007, 11:05 PM
Oh i'm losing the 6x9's already and using the stock rears instead.

solitz
18-07-2007, 03:08 PM
u dont have to ditch the 6x9 but since u are using a 5ch amp...id reccomend that u set the filters to HP on the splits and the 6x9 the LP for the sub channel...this is so that you dont have sub cancellation as sub and 6x9 are both designed for bass

if not u can ditch the 6x9 like drew said and then get a 2ch amp for ur splits and then a mono for the sub.