PDA

View Full Version : need a clutch kit for my 91' civic

tiksie
22-07-2007, 07:16 PM
Noob here, just recently bought a 91 model honda civic, it looks like the 92 93 94 etc before the EK model ? Anyway heres a pic of it:

http://img214.imageshack.us/img214/7379/2406399gh8.jpg

It's a 1.5l (thats what it writes on the transfer papers) 1991 honda civic GL engine capacity 1493.0.

ANYWAY, putting down all the info, how much would a clutch kit cost for this as the clutch is really worn out on it and has a tiny bit of life left in her.

I am in Sydney aswell if that helps.

Cheers.

JDM_VTIR
23-07-2007, 09:21 AM
hey there buddy. if your cars for normal day to day driving i suggest you get the "heavy duty cushioned button clutch"...it's easy on the clutch and performs just as well as the "heavy duty". a few of my mates are running them on their cars and they're quite good. around $700 for them. cheers.
http://www.exedy.com.au/sports_tuff.htm

TheSaint
23-07-2007, 10:00 AM
good reading there, thanx for the link =)

JDM_VTIR
23-07-2007, 11:29 AM
see a good post? 1+ rep :)

tiksie
23-07-2007, 12:36 PM
The problem with the clutch is that when im pulling the clutch back up after putting it into gear, it has to be near normal for the gear to engage if you know what I mean, does that mean that the clutch is gone ? Someone told me to tighten the clutch cable and that the issue is with the clutch cable ?

Cheers.

Kiz_EG6
23-07-2007, 12:52 PM
The problem with the clutch is that when im pulling the clutch back up after putting it into gear, it has to be near normal for the gear to engage if you know what I mean, does that mean that the clutch is gone ? Someone told me to tighten the clutch cable and that the issue is with the clutch cable ?

Cheers.

Hey man, i wouldn't jump straight in and replace it just because of that, it may just need an adjustment, if it has not been previously adjusted out, then you may find that there's a good 20 - 30,000 k's of meat left on her!