PDA

View Full Version : engineering?

Rice_4_life
24-07-2007, 08:27 PM
after much thinking I've decided to drop out of the trade and pick up a engineers course which is a tafe course, would go uni but my I didn't really do all that great in high school. Question is anyone on the forum currently doing the course or employed as an engineer? pay like?
Thought I might get a bit of info before going head first into a new career like I did with mechanics.
Cheers, and yes I've googled it, jumped on to tafe sites to get information about

IZY-10
24-07-2007, 09:18 PM
shouldn't this be in the lounge? Anyways im currently in my second year of electronic engineering (Adv Dip) and i love it. I plan to articulate (transfer into my third year uni next year) which is possible if you achieve high marks. Although i am thinking of getting into electrical engineering as there are more jobs available in Melbourne for it. It is a lot of hard work and alot of hours. Just a word of warning prepare to work hard for it even though it is only TAFE it is not easy. Also prepare to do alot of equations and studying. In the end its all worth it. Hope this helps you make your decision up

AsH_
24-07-2007, 10:39 PM
i'd like to get into something different...

but hard when i'm married and having a baby soon...

i hope that i can move on from sales/customer service...

not much money in it...

Rice_4_life
26-07-2007, 07:20 PM
thanks for the input guys. think I might take a day off and go to swinburne and see if I can chat to one of the careers advisors or someone like that.

_FeRiO_
26-07-2007, 11:29 PM
what particular field in engineering are you planning to undertake??
As IZY-10 said before, there is alot of work involved and the drop out rate seems to be fairly high, (not sure with TAFE though) so make sure you put the time and effort in the work you do, and you should be fine. I am currently working as a graduate engineer and the money is great, you wont have to worry about that.

IZY-10