PDA

View Full Version : Headers Question

Shimian
06-08-2007, 06:43 PM
Looking to get some headers for my FD2 running stock air box. I read that I may need to do some tuning and use products like emange or other piggyback products. Noob here. So does it mean i have to spend another $500+ in order to upgrade headers? Ive never upgraded my headers before so i dont know the process. Can i just install the headers and let the stock ECU relearn the settings?

Any help is appreciated greatly

mugeneration
06-08-2007, 11:34 PM
Yeah tuning would help a little if they are REALLY good headers. But if theyre just average - good quality headers then you wouldnt really notice the difference tuned or un tuned.

aaronng
07-08-2007, 12:00 AM
You can get an interceptor and tune that, but that is if you want all of the potential gains from your headers.

Are you running the stock exhaust too? If you have the stock air box and exhaust, then it is not worth doing spending so much money on ECU tuning just for the headers.

BTW, good headers = $1000 at least. Good interceptor $500-700. Installation and tuning maybe ~$350

Shimian
07-08-2007, 06:25 PM
What I will be running are headers made for my car. Apparently its called "RRB Intake Manifold". As I said, im noob to headers so i dont know whats good or not. I will find out more on this particular header. I will be running stock air box with k&n filter. Maybe one day i will remove the resonator. My exhaust will be changed to Fuji catback, and again its made for my model, plug and play.
I dont know what an interceptor is. Can someone explain?
So in this situation, do i need to buy some piggyback product or anything to tune my car? Or will stock ECU do all the relearning? Im not sure whats involved in tuning the car. Im guessing it does some mods to the ECU to have new settings? If yes, will that reset if i take it to Honda for a service as i was told they check your ECU everytime u get your car serviced?

Any help is appreciated greatly