PDA

View Full Version : First Wakefield Run Coming Up - Target Time?

m0nty ITR
29-08-2007, 10:38 PM
I've got my first run at Wakefield coming up and I'm really unsure about what times I should be aiming for. What should I hold as a target with mods listed below.

Motor
Injen CAI
Toda Headers with straight pipe (no cat)
Fujitsubo Power Getter Catback

Suspension and Tyres
Tein Flex coilovers
Cusco front and rear strut braces
Brand new Bridgestone RE55s with Volk TE37s
Standard sway bars

Brakes
AP Racing slotted rotors and Project Mu HC Plus pads

Car will be about 30kgs down on weight from standard kerb weight with rear seat, space saver and tools removed plus the weight saving running Volk wheels. Been advised to run around 2.5 degrees camber and slight toe out on the car. Is this right for a DC5R? Damping will be trial and error (hopefully not much error). I run 16 soft on the road and will start at 10 for the first few runs. I've never used semi slicks before. Should I scrub them in the first session and then push harder later in the day or are they fast as soon as their up to temperature?

Any advice on getting the best from the car would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

mpd076-chuck
29-08-2007, 10:41 PM
First few sessions I'd be happy with 1:16-17 and then work down to 1:13's. Is it just your first time with this car or first time overall to Wakefield?

I would try for 3 degrees negative on the front and 2.5 on the rear. This won't necessarily make you faster but will keep tyre wear and contact patch even. I wouldn't worry too much about toe at the moment, if you really want to, try 2-3mm toe out Front, 3-4mm Toe in Rear. I run that and have never had uneven wear. Makes the car wander in a straightline but feel a bit more planted in the corners.

If Semi's are new then you do need to run them in. One hard session should do it.