PDA

View Full Version : Cutting a extra Key

kw0n3k
10-09-2007, 06:49 PM
Hey all,

i got a friend who just recently brought a Prelude Si 98 model. thing is it only came with 1 key and another Honda key.

wanna know if i can just get the key that she's got and go my usual key cutting place to get the key's duplicated. is it possible? im a mechanic btw, soo we get customers asking use to cut extra keys, but i know there's some voodoo stuff with these keys with some security tag.

well any advice is greatly appreciated,
thanks in advance,

Kelvin

Mrkrooz
10-09-2007, 07:45 PM
um i dnt think you would have any problems cause the immobiliser is seperate from the key so i think it should be ok....

vtek
10-09-2007, 11:28 PM
they have chips inside them so you wouldnt be able to program them your self.

5thGen
11-09-2007, 12:25 AM
Yeh as far as I know you cant just get a key "cut"

With the sale your friend should have gotten an extra Red key which is basically a spare that can be programmed to the car. You have to take it to Honda for this.

[stealth]
11-09-2007, 12:26 AM
you can get key cut but its useless.. you need the RED/master key in order to cut and copy keys

kw0n3k
11-09-2007, 07:21 PM
;1341554']you need the RED/master key in order to cut and copy keys

yeah i got that, but how is a key cutting place gonna get the same teething as the master key, when the red key has completely different teeth marks?

all i wanna do is copy the master key, which i know can be done, problem is, the owners manual says some bs about some chip in the key that has some vodoo stuff going on.

all i need is a copy of the master key, i dont think the red key has anything to do with this situation inless ive lost all keys. then i take that red key to honda which then they will make duplicate copies of the master & slave key.

ECU-MAN
11-09-2007, 07:39 PM
to be able to program in a genuine honda key you need the red key.