PDA

View Full Version : Is my car worth modding??

revilodraw
19-10-2007, 08:35 PM
My new purchase is a 1990 Civic GL hatch, dual carburrator, everything is stock. Up until this I was driving my Dad's commodore. As you can imagine, the civic is just a little bit less power lol. My friend has suggested a full exhaust upgrade including headers and extractirs, plus a pod filter and going from there with cams etc. Basically I'm a uni student who doesn't do any racing at all, but i do enjoy driving something with a bit more grunt. Is my car worth modding? I won't be installing a turbo due to the $$ plus insurance...

Daynesy
19-10-2007, 08:43 PM
It depends on personal preference. Modding on all cars would give more power :)

Think Headers and Extractors are the same thing BTW :P

jay_vtec
19-10-2007, 09:01 PM
exactly its totally up to u...maybe not a full exhaust system but try a cannon muffler HANGIN ON THE ANGEL) looks tough as..and a nice k&n podfilter well not a normal one cuz u have a carby u need a carby pod filter try autobarn...get sum nice chrome ones lol

TJsol
19-10-2007, 11:32 PM
hmmm... its all up 2 u!!

but from what u have said NO.. but it jst dependz on how much money u have n how long u gona keep your car. If u not gona keep it then i would buy sumfink thtz got a bit more balls!! but up 2 u. lol..

sik-vic
20-10-2007, 12:04 AM
well if your actually serious..............................
canon mufflers a a waste of time with a carby car cause they need more back pressure, secondly you cant put a pod filter on the intake tube on the dual carb you need the d shaped k&n in box filter i bought one for about $80

but by the time you change cams, jet carbies, do the exhaust, etc, your gonna pay nearly as much as a half cut with a b16a mpfi vtec engine, and still have very little power in comparison, so if you want advise id save some green bills and buy a half cut,

my rant over :zip:

cristian
20-10-2007, 04:52 AM