PDA

View Full Version : Honda N/A Tuning

smoove
23-10-2007, 10:41 PM
Hey all,

I'm new to Hondas being a Nissan boy for the past 4 years haha! So I apologise in advance for my ignorance regarding NA engines and VTEC

I have an Apexi SAFC Neo which I would like to use to tune a B16A.
What type of gains would i expect? - its a piggyback so typically only the A/F ratios can be tweaked.

Another interesting feature is the VTEC control option - I believe it is only an extra 2 wires to the ECU - and u can set VTEC to kick in at say 4000rpm... why would i want to change this? :)

so in summary, will i see decent gains or should i not bother and buy another ECU - such as the hondata..

|N|
23-10-2007, 10:47 PM
Hey all,

I'm new to Hondas being a Nissan boy for the past 4 years haha! So I apologise in advance for my ignorance regarding NA engines and VTEC

I have an Apexi SAFC Neo which I would like to use to tune a B16A.
What type of gains would i expect? - its a piggyback so typically only the A/F ratios can be tweaked.

Another interesting feature is the VTEC control option - I believe it is only an extra 2 wires to the ECU - and u can set VTEC to kick in at say 4000rpm... why would i want to change this? :)

so in summary, will i see decent gains or should i not bother and buy another ECU - such as the hondata.. and finally recommendations on tuning workshops?

um... VAFC is wat u need not SAFC...plus making hi cam kick in earlier wont make ur car quicker

smoove
23-10-2007, 10:52 PM
The SAFC Neo is the latest one - has both SAFC and VAFC functions combined.

|N|
23-10-2007, 10:55 PM
The SAFC Neo is the latest one - has both SAFC and VAFC functions combined.

sorry my bad... i didnt see the NEO...

i thought u talking abt the old safc

blk_shadow
23-10-2007, 10:58 PM
most people go straight with Hondata without apexi things.

or otherwise, use the apexi, see the gain. and then use the Hondata for a better output.