PDA

View Full Version : jump starting

faijai
13-08-2004, 03:11 PM
hey guys
i know this sounds stupid but how do u jump start a car? im a total newb. My cars been lying in the garage for around 3 weeks or so and the car wont start. help pls. hehe

VTEChnique
13-08-2004, 05:05 PM
OK i'll try to help you out before you get yo ass flamed HAHA

park the other car nose-to nose.. LEAVE THE DONOR CAR RUNNING (not in gear) then connect negative (black) lead from the donor car to your car's negative (-) battery terminal. Then connect the positive (red) Lead to the donor car, then to your (+) battery terminal.. leave to 'charge for a minute or two (you can increase the RPM on the donor car as it will increase the alternator's output.
now ENSURE YOU ARE IN NEUTRAL and you should be able to turn the key to the ignition ON position - your lights should come on.. then give it a try.

if it still hasnt got enough zap to start, you can try to increase the RPM in the donor car and/or leave it to CHARGE for a little while.

DO NOT leave it on there for too long as it may damage your donor car's alternator.

some batteries once they have gone flat - are forever flat and cannot hold charge once it is recieving more charge, so you MAY need to spend $90 on a new battery.

VTEChnique
13-08-2004, 05:12 PM
p.s. once it's running, remove POSITIVE from YOUR car and then the donor car, THEN remove the PPosative cable from your car then the donor car..

dont turn your car off for at least 15-20 mins or you wont have given the alternator time to have re-charged your battery.. if you go for a long drive then turn it off an dot wont re-start.. your alternator might be dead.. or your batter can no longer hold charge.. need to get a volt-meter onto both..

ECU-MAN
13-08-2004, 08:33 PM