PDA

View Full Version : Eg Steering rack leaking,decision time

teh_mechanic
07-02-2008, 05:07 PM
My eg hatch's power steering rack is leaking....pretty bad,reservoir almost completely emptied in 3 weeks.

So i need to make a decision on what im going to do,what would you do?options are:

1. Get the rack reconditioned, so it will basically be brand new again - called BHSS (great workshop for car hydraulic reconditioning) - $530 to recondition rack,ouch,remember im a poor apprentice

2. Buy a rack from a wrecked eg or one for sale if i was lucky enough to find it and hope that it holds on and doesnt just start leaking in 5000kms.any around?prices?

3. Ditch the pump and turn the rack into a manual steer rack,theres a diy on here,but even then im sure the rack would still need fluid in it,so it would still leak,so i dont think i can do this

4. Buy my own seal kit ($145) and do a mini recondition of the rack myself.tried this on this rack 3 months ago when it started leaking,got it pressure tested by BHSS,they said it was ok,but now here i am with a leaking rack again,so im not really game to give it another try,its pretty tricky with heaps of lil silicone seals.

what to do?

EG5[KRT]
07-02-2008, 05:09 PM
id get a reco rack.

that way it wont leak again.if it does you can get a replacement under warranty.

90LAN
07-02-2008, 05:16 PM
pm sent

55EXX
08-02-2008, 07:52 PM
reco it man. fix it once.

Sir_vtec
09-02-2008, 04:28 PM
why dont u jst ditch power steering? mines leaking too but not as quick as urs, im gona remove the rack.

90LAN
09-02-2008, 05:31 PM
cheers brendan hope u enjoy your new eg6 steering rack

teh_mechanic
10-02-2008, 12:22 AM
why dont u jst ditch power steering? mines leaking too but not as quick as urs, im gona remove the rack.