PDA

View Full Version : civic Questions

Nath
22-03-2008, 03:13 PM
hi guys. names Nathan, just joined, but have been reading up on articles for a few days after i found a stunning example of a EK (i think) civic sedan on carsales, ata great price)

problem is it is an autO D16YA GLi trim level.

now i HAVE searched, here, google, boostcruising, and wikipedia for as much info, but honda is just so damn confusing. i come from a long line of corollas and 4AGE's, and now i wanna get into VTEC lol.

i want to drop a Bseries VTEC motor into this GLi i have my eye on, obviously with a manual box attathced. as far as i searched, everyone says sell it and buy a manual one, not a problem for me, as i havnt bought it yet :P but it looks stunning (retrimmed, kitted, coilovers huge stereo etc.) with only 71kms on it.

im an apprentice mechanic, and motor swaps are no problem for me. im mroe worried about the manual conversion parts. obviously i would be getting a half cut but still a bit weary as to how hard it wil be.

also, i am still a bit confused as too all the different models of civics and B series motors. but i know so far i want either a B16A or B18C.

keeping in mind i wil be getting a half cut either way, which would be better for a street driven car with some power. (im used to 6ltr commos so its gotta be wuick :P)

which model would i idealy get these motors from?

im gunna keep searching, but would still like some help. sorry for the long winded post :P

Cheers
Nathan

edit: this should probably be in the n00b forum now that i look :P)

Red_EG4
22-03-2008, 03:51 PM
well going from those torque filled 6 litres to 1.6 or 1.8 litres is definately going to be a task.