PDA

View Full Version : VTEC and PETROL

.::F[L]Y::.
08-09-2004, 06:39 PM
hi guys/girls.

tried to do a search on the matter but nothing sufficient came up...

so just wanted to know does different petrol types ie optimax, ultimate or synergy 8000 have an impact on how hard vtec kicks in??

because from personal experience i think synergy 8000 gives vtec more ommmph and vtec feels better as oppose to optimax but then again it could be just me..

btw the type of car im driving is a honda civic coupe VTIR...

cheers

cdpfxz
08-09-2004, 06:48 PM
um id say its all in your head...i usually use ultimate but have tried others but makes no difference really...theyre all pretty much the same

08-09-2004, 06:52 PM
im new to vtec...so when vtec kicks in the whole car feels like it flies and that u get a sensation of the whole car being light...

Rowie
08-09-2004, 07:16 PM
dyno dave ran a fuel test and found mobil 98 octane to have better HP with the honda engines.

FIT
08-09-2004, 07:38 PM
i feel that with honda cars synergy 8000 is more responsive

redliner
08-09-2004, 07:44 PM
dunno the diff really
i have to use premium unleaded either way

08-09-2004, 07:47 PM
i have only been using optimax as it is cheaper than synergy haahaha...

fusion_VTi
08-09-2004, 07:54 PM
imo oil quality plays a bigger part in the vtec kick, not too sure about the fuel though...

vti-2
08-09-2004, 08:14 PM
Y::.']im new to vtec...so when vtec kicks in the whole car feels like it flies and that u get a sensation of the whole car being light...

LOL! I'm in tears, please stop making me laugh...

This is exactly why Honda owners get bagged so much. VTEC does NOT make all this so called power when it kicks in. Sure you might get the sensation that you are 'flying' but when reality actually kicks you realise its the noise VTEC makes that makes it seem like you are hitting this power band.