PDA

View Full Version : Problem shifting into First Gear sometimes

renegadeice
14-05-2008, 11:02 AM
Hi Guys,

Been meaning to ask this question for a while but never got around to it. I've got a manual '07 Civic. Once in a long while, I have problems shifting into first gear from neutral. It feels like something's in the way when I try to shift into first. The only way two way to fix it shift into second/third a few times then it'll let me shift into first. Or if i'm really desperate (i.e. at the lights with busy traffic) I slam it into first (which probably hurts my heart more than my beloved car x.X).

The thing is I have no idea how to reproduce the problem to show to my dealer/mechanic. Has anyone ever encountered this problem? I am a daily driver (tho trips can be short). And I average this happens like 2 - 3 times a month.

aaronng
14-05-2008, 11:35 AM
It is because your gears had a tooth-on-tooth situation. That's why putting it in to another gear and then back into 1st makes it go in. Happens to all manual cars. Not a "defect" per say.

renegadeice
14-05-2008, 11:44 AM
thanks for the reply, aaronng. Is there a way to fix/prevent this? =/ takes a few gear shifts before being able to shift into first.

aaronng
14-05-2008, 12:48 PM
thanks for the reply, aaronng. Is there a way to fix/prevent this? =/ takes a few gear shifts before being able to shift into first.

For me, if I can't get into 1st, I either go back to neutral, release the clutch, then press clutch in and try 1st gear again. Or go into 4th and then back into 1st, holding the clutch down the entire time.

02gzm
14-05-2008, 01:53 PM
While you're in neutral, giving the engine a little blip and then shifting to first can help

dwn_boi
14-05-2008, 01:56 PM