PDA

View Full Version : Replicate Civic FD mugen bodykit material question

FD2R
04-07-2008, 04:29 AM
hi guys/girls

I'm planing to get a kit for my civic FD, sourced few posts from ebay, but just wondering what material most suitable.

What are the differences between the ABS plastic, fibreglass and polyurethane?
Some said not easy to break and crack,some said paint can last longer and lighter.:confused: Which one is better? :confused:

i have no experience choosing kit on vehicles, any advises are very appreciated.

Cheers

Please relocate if posted in wrong area.

Shimian
04-07-2008, 07:58 AM
Heres some info that may help you decide.

http://i253.photobucket.com/albums/hh46/Shimian8/Bodykit.jpg

FD2R
04-07-2008, 04:23 PM
thanks Shimian thats marvelous. :D
So, looks like ABS is the best choice ?!?!

bodaas
04-07-2008, 05:16 PM
yeah abs the best, just fit straight in

fiberglass, usually needs bogging job during fitment

JaCe
04-07-2008, 05:59 PM
Genuine Mugen is FRP isn't it?

Can definitely feel big difference in texture between my genuine wing and replica ABS bodykit.

I'd also have to add that fitment would be also dependent on the quality of the manufacturer- not just the materials. Sure it can bend and so on, but if the original mould is wrong (mine was a tinsy bit off), it still creates gaps.

tazman888
19-11-2008, 09:56 PM
How much heavier is the POLYURETHANE compare with the ABS?
is there a huge difference?

FallenAngel
19-11-2008, 11:04 PM
NOt that big of a difference but u'll feel it if u lift the parts with ur hands

Wayne
19-11-2008, 11:04 PM
how about Polypropylene which also known as PP and quite famous now in Malaysia.. =)

it says can compare the quality with ABS..

FallenAngel
19-11-2008, 11:10 PM
Er definitely not PP... It cracks easier than ABS and u can't really get the smoothness finish that u'd want on a car

Wayne
19-11-2008, 11:23 PM