PDA

View Full Version : [CL9] how is the steering wheel inter-connected with the brakes?

unity
24-07-2008, 05:56 PM
Hi I have limited knowledge about cars but I was hoping some one might be able to tell me how the steering wheel and brakes are connected?
I noticed today that while I was tapping (and I mean light taps not banging) on the steering wheel while listening to some music, I noticed that caused a pulse/vibration down through the brake pedal. I have posted previously that I am getting what I feel an unusual amount of sensation through the pedals.
So why can I feel these taps through the brake pedal and can this then explain the excessive pulses/vibration I am experiencing?
Thank you.

d15z1SUX
24-07-2008, 09:41 PM
fully sik bass from the music yo...

d15z1SUX
24-07-2008, 09:42 PM
can you show us a video of how u tap ur hand on the steering wheel while listening music in the car? then maybe we can diagnose your problem better.

Type R Positive
24-07-2008, 10:15 PM
This thread is worthless with out vids! :p
ROFL!

Euro08Jaz
24-07-2008, 10:15 PM
i can also feel the window wipers heavily through brakes although i doubt they are connected .

Pumped
24-07-2008, 10:30 PM
I too agree that to give a fair assessment of the situation a video is required!

they may be connected with ropes or a pulley system

unity
24-07-2008, 10:31 PM
Do you really need a video? When I say tap (with just one finger) i mean at an intensity just loud enough to actually hear the tap . It even occurs when the music is off and the car is off too. It is noticable when the steering wheel is tapped from the top and bottom (when steering wheel is in its normal position) but dont feel anything when I tap the wheel side on.

Suntzu
24-07-2008, 11:20 PM
Im always tapping something bruther...dont always get positive feedback either :p

Euro08Jaz
25-07-2008, 12:25 AM
^^^ ahahhaha

unity
25-07-2008, 12:33 AM