PDA

View Full Version : buying a civic... maybe

85[H]accord
13-09-2008, 03:19 AM
Having looked for a new car for the last month or so, I am now looking at 2001-2006 civics... I have a couple I'm looking at, hopefully will be test driving a couple this weekend. now a few questions... (PS, am in Australia, please keep this in mind when sharing info/advice)

I am looking at both the sedan (GLi) and hatch (Vi)... I generally prefer the shape of a sedan/coupe... although at first i didnt like the sharp, flat tail of the sedan, it has definitely grown on me. But I am aware that there are differences in the engine (D17, i believe?), and that the hatch has something like an extra 11kw (15hp)... I have very little knowledge of the newer generations, so I have no idea what kind of cam/ecu/variable-valve-timing trickery is responsible for this. I'm also unsure of the dash mounted shifter (in my mind it would seem flimsy and awkward, and i wouldnt know what to do with my left hand most of the time, lol), but i guess driving it will be the only thing to do in this case. and finally i know there was an 04/05 facelift (on the sedan at least, hatch too??) and these are the ones i'd go for, the front end is much prettier... were there any other changes apart from the headlights and other minor cosmetic differences?

anything i should know about the vehicles, any links or helpful info, would be greatly appreciated. I'm not really a boy racer, but i like/need my cars to have some get up and go, and modifications i would be looking at would be stereo, wheels and uprated/lowered suspension, maybe a sports muffler (no cannon) or full catback exhaust system. once again, any input appreciated, and if you actually read all of this, good on you.

denot
13-09-2008, 10:02 AM
If you dont like the FDa, get EP3R mate :thumbsup: 7th Gen engine is... not that great IMO... but it still a good run around car... have one of them before, still love em

85[H]accord
13-09-2008, 10:28 AM