PDA

View Full Version : Fitting of headers

m0fo
22-09-2008, 06:39 PM
Hey there .. im a real noob when it comes to cars and i would like to know what would i have to change if i just bought headers and wanted to fix them on my car ... could i just put them on straight away or would i have to change other piping ? i am clueless .. pls help me out :D

xtat1k
22-09-2008, 07:18 PM
take it to an exhaust shop and let them do it.

blk_shadow
22-09-2008, 09:36 PM
Hey there .. im a real noob when it comes to cars and i would like to know what would i have to change if i just bought headers and wanted to fix them on my car ... could i just put them on straight away or would i have to change other piping ? i am clueless .. pls help me out :D

you gotta know where the header is made (Jap, US or Aus) because the flanges are all different.

Aus header will mostly have no problem bolting on to ur OEM cat. but JDM ones you need to change to JDM cat or buy another cat and use JDM flanges to suit the header.

m0fo
23-09-2008, 05:35 PM
you gotta know where the header is made (Jap, US or Aus) because the flanges are all different.

Aus header will mostly have no problem bolting on to ur OEM cat. but JDM ones you need to change to JDM cat or buy another cat and use JDM flanges to suit the header.

thx alot shadow ... i have a apexi muffler does that mean i will have to change the muffler or as u said see wether the headers im getting are oem or jdm that will decide .. rite ??

blk_shadow
23-09-2008, 09:17 PM
thx alot shadow ... i have a apexi muffler does that mean i will have to change the muffler or as u said see wether the headers im getting are oem or jdm that will decide .. rite ??

you don't have to change the muffler.
any exhaust and headers combination should be fine, what matter is the flanges and the length between the headers and the exhaust pipe.

which will determine which cat you shuld be using and whether you should use different flanges or not.

m0fo